Update

How’s about an update on my (very mundane and probably boring to all of you) life? Well, it’s been… 3 weeks since I returned from my infamous trip to the US! (I guess it’s really only infamous if you’ve read my blog posts up until now, including the ones on blog.com…) But I’m back! My five big weeks in America are very much over. I think I thought I’d be sadder than this to be back home, but let me tell you something: I love our gun laws here in good old Australia.

I mean, nothing happened. Really, there was no good reason for me to be scared of guns–everyone was pretty friendly and I never saw anyone get hurt or threaten anyone else. I guess my mum’s irrational fear of EVERYONE and EVERYTHING has sort of seeped into me.

Nevertheless, I had an AWESOME time. I got to climb to the back of the Hollywood Sign, drive along Route 66, watch the ball drop in New York, meet my pen pal, and, best of all, SIT NEXT TO GUS SOROLA ON THE PLANE FROM AUSTIN TO LOS ANGELES.
How’s that for a good holiday?

For those who don’t know Mr. Gus, you probably don’t care much about this story. But here it is anyway, for anyone on the internet to read (and to probably boil in their jealousy).

So, yeah. I was flying back from Austin to LAX to eventually fly back to Sydney. And, just by happenstance, I was seated in between two people who work at Rooster Teeth, a company that makes the best videos on YouTube (I mean, they also made a movie, but, you know… YouTube is free…). I was very nervous, unsurprisingly. But I still made conversation, because there was no way in hell I was going to leave that country without getting a photo or two. The other person I sat next to, in case you were wondering, was Bethany, the events manager for Rooster Teeth.

Blah blah blah, we talked, got photos, and made plans to see each other the next weekend! (No, I’m only kidding–it just so happened that RTXAU was the next weekend and I was a Guardian and they were both going so, yeah… naturally, we would see each other).
So it was really cool, and both of them recognised me at the event, which made it so much better.

 

 

Wow, okay, I went on a massive trip around the US and all I can talk about is sitting next to some people on a plane?
I SWEAR it was fun.
I think, truthfully, my favourite place was Austin. Those who know me know I’m not in the habit of liking the general population, and Austin was SUPER quiet, so we got along well. I mean, there were heaps of cars but just NO people. And we were in downtown! ‘Cause that’s where you go when life is making you lonely.
Apart from Austin, I loved New York City. I mean, it didn’t live up to London (sorry anyone who is offended by that, although I don’t know why you would be) but it was nice enough. I didn’t like all the people hassling us to do carriage rides around Central Park, though. They really dragged the mood down sometimes. AND our hotel wasn’t great. We had to change rooms TWICE because they just didn’t know how to do things right the first time. (Wow, that sounded harsh.)

Now that I’m back, I’ve got not much to do. I’m planning my next trip, and also planning to save money to eventually move to London. But I’d better be careful, ’cause life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.

 

 

I’m getting into baking a lot these days, and I’m gonna try to have a stall at some local markets to sell cupcakes. I don’t think it’s EVER been done before.
Are there any particular flavours that would make good combos? I’ve decided on a Boston Creme one, a choc-mint, a plain chocolate and probably some sort of vanilla thing. Also coconut. People are pretty coco-nutty about that these days. HAHAHAHA

I guess that’s all for now. TGIF, ’cause we can get some Aussie Maccas and watch The Mindy Project ’til we go crazy. Side note: did you know (or did you expect) that McDonald’s in America is actually a really big let down? I’m sorry, but their fries have nothing on our chips. Haha, terminology….

 

CYA!

Leave a Reply

