#whatsamyhiding

And hidden no more! If my countless followers on Twitter have been impatiently waiting to found out what Amy’s been hiding, you shall wait no longer! Here’s Amy’s story, told by the [insert adjective here] up-and-coming journalist my house has ever seen!

(You can view my ‘prelude tweets’ here.)

So, what exactly do Paul McCarntey, Michael J. Fox and Amy Layt have in common?

Amy Layt, a 24-year-old-but-soon-to-be-25, is studying a Bachelor of Creative Arts, majoring in creative writing, at the University of Wollongong. She has dreams of moving to the United States of America (more specifically, Los Angeles, the City of Angels) and becoming a screenwriter. Within the first few hours of meeting her, I knew her favourite show (It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia), her stance on music (she has no favourite genre or band, she just likes a range of music), and her love for tomato soup and tea in winter and watermelon in summer.

What I didn’t find out was what she loved to do in her free time (apart from watching movies and going to concerts and Q&As). I found out that she once gave a Twix chocolate bar to Jason Alexander. I knew she could take a joke and wasn’t afraid to make one.

I don’t know how long it took me to find out her little secret. (Ooh, how ominous does that sound?) And I couldn’t think why she kept it a secret! Do you want to know what it is?

Drum roll…

Amy can play the guitar! (And very well at that.) She’s been playing for about 10 years now, something that started at a youth group and grew into one of her favourite hobbies. Amy said that only her family and close friends know about this secret. She loves practicing the tunes she writes herself and looks up to Billy Corgan from a band called the Smashing Pumpkins, due to his diversity. I heard the first song she learned was Green Day’s ‘Time of Your Life’.

It was very interesting to talk to Amy about her hidden talent. I even had the opportunity to talk to her mum, who took time out of her busy day to interview for me (thank you!). I learned that Amy’s great-grandfather also possessed the talent of guitar-playing, which might just be where she gets it from. I could tell Amy’s mum was proud of what her daughter has achieved and I am completely in awe of Amy’s guitar-playing.

Thank you very much to Amy and her mum for taking the time to speak to me.

(I respected Amy’s wishes by not having her face in any of the photos.)

Music: http://bensound.com/ and Amy Layt herself.

Not so hidden now, it is?

(Footnote: my Storify post with my ‘prelude’ tweets at https://storify.com/heidiraefj/whatsamyhiding.)

Thank you, one and all, for sticking with me through this process and taking the time to read or watch (or both) my work. I know my style takes some time to get used to… Hopefully the better I get the more you’ll want to keep up with my stuff!

You’re the greatest!

–Heidi

Leave a Reply

